BirdPICKS

Home › Houses & Nesting › Purple martin houses

Purple martin houses · Best of

Best Purple Martin House (2026): 7 Houses and Gourds Compared

Best Purple Martin House (2026): 7 Houses and Gourds Compared

The best purple martin house is one with enough rooms for the colony you hope to host, a material that suits your climate and mounting plan, and entrance holes that the listing says help keep starlings out. This guide compares seven houses and gourds, from a compact six-room aluminum model to a 16-room plastic barn.

Three picks lead: the Birds Choice 12-room house for starling-resistant holes and three floors, the S&K 16-room barn for the most rooms in one unit, and the Heath 12-room wood house for a wooden option with no assembly. Below you will find the other four picks, a side-by-side table, a buying guide on rooms, entrances, mounting and cleaning, and answers to common questions.

Each of the remaining four picks also earns a named distinction:

  • Best for a smaller colony: the Birds Choice 8-room house, because at 7 lb per the listing it is lighter than the 12-room model, and it keeps the starling-resistant holes over two floors.
  • Best compact aluminum: the Heath AH-6D, because at 3.5 lb it is the lightest house in the guide, and its floors snap out for cleaning.
  • Best plastic 12-room: the S&K 12-room house, because it has twelve rooms with no-tools assembly, and its lifetime warranty applies when it is used with the Quad-Tel pole.
  • Best gourd option: the Heath 8-pack gourds, because at 1.1 lb they are light, and their starling-resistant entrances can be removed.

Check the house every season. Several listings mention cleaning access, roof and floor panels, and door stops for closing the house between seasons. Clear out old nesting material and check the entrance holes, porch railings and mounting before the birds arrive, and keep the mounting pole and hardware in good repair.

Our top picks for the best purple martin house

#1Best for starling-resistant holes
Birds Choice Premium Aluminum House, 12 Rooms

Birds Choice Premium Aluminum House, 12 Rooms

Best for: Those who want three floors and crescent-shaped entrance holes

  • 3 floors and 12 rooms
  • crescent starling-resistant entrance holes per the listing

Check price on Amazon Full review

#2Best for a large colony
S&K Purple Martin House, 16-Room Barn

S&K Purple Martin House, 16-Room Barn

Best for: Larger colonies and buyers who want a telescoping pole set-up

  • 16 family rooms
  • polypropylene copolymer
  • snaps together with no tools

Check price on Amazon Full review

#3Best wood option
Heath Deluxe Wood Martin House, 12 Rooms

Heath Deluxe Wood Martin House, 12 Rooms

Best for: Buyers who prefer wood and a roof that lifts off for cleaning

  • 12 rooms
  • no assembly required
  • porch rails included

Check price on Amazon Full review

#4Best for a smaller colony
Birds Choice Premium Aluminum House, 8 Rooms

Birds Choice Premium Aluminum House, 8 Rooms

Best for: Smaller colonies and buyers who want a lighter two-floor house

  • 2 floors and 8 rooms
  • 7 lb per the listing
  • hinged doors for cleaning

Check price on Amazon Full review

#5Best compact aluminum
Heath AH-6D 6-Room Aluminum House

Heath AH-6D 6-Room Aluminum House

Best for: Buyers who want a light, compact house they can add units to

  • 6 rooms
  • 3.5 lb
  • floors snap out for cleaning
  • door stops included

Check price on Amazon Full review

#6Best plastic 12-room
S&K Purple Martin House, 12 Rooms

S&K Purple Martin House, 12 Rooms

Best for: Plastic housing with a 12-room layout and a lifetime warranty with the Quad-Tel pole

  • 12 compartments
  • no-tools assembly

Check price on Amazon Full review

#7Best gourd option
Heath Purple Martin Gourds, 8-Pack

Heath Purple Martin Gourds, 8-Pack

Best for: Buyers who want gourds on a pole or to add to existing housing

  • 1.1 lb plastic gourds
  • removable starling-resistant entrances

Check price on Amazon Full review

Specs side by side

PickRoomsMaterialSizeWeight
Birds Choice 12-Room12 on 3 floorsAluminum and stainless steel14 x 19 x 20 in.9 lb
S&K 16-Room Barn16Polypropylene copolymer20 x 19 x 18 in.8 lb
Heath M-12Dp Wood12Wood (see note 2)Not stated reliably10 lb
Birds Choice 8-Room8 on 2 floorsAluminum and stainless steel19 x 14 x 14 in.7 lb
Heath AH-6D6Aluminum14 x 13 x 13 in. (D x W x H)3.5 lb
S&K 12-Room12Polypropylene19 x 20 x 18 in. (D x W x H)8 lb
Heath 8-Pack Gourds8 gourds (listing) (see note 1)Off-white plastic8 x 8 x 11.5 in.1.1 lb
  1. The listing's bullets count 8 gourds, but its specs describe a two-piece set and its copy calls it a two-pack, so confirm the count on the product page before you order.
  2. The listing's bullets say the wood is plantation-grown redwood, while its description calls it cedar, so confirm the species if it matters to you.

"Not stated" means the listing did not give a reliable figure.

1. Birds Choice 12-Room Aluminum House: best for starling-resistant holes

This is the largest aluminum house in this guide, with three floors. The listing describes crescent-shaped starling-resistant entrance holes, cut to a set height so that, according to the listing, starlings are kept out while martins can still enter. The copy also says tests show the holes are 99.8% effective at restricting starlings. That is the manufacturer's claim rather than an independent result, so weigh it accordingly.

The listing also describes a ventilated roof that helps regulate temperature, hinged doors for cleaning, and porch dividers and guard rails.

What we like

  • Crescent-shaped starling-resistant entrance holes, per the listing.
  • A ventilated roof and hinged doors for cleaning.
  • Twelve 6 x 6 in. rooms spread over three floors.

Keep in mind

  • The listing says assembly is required, and it does not describe a mounting pole.
  • At 9 lb, lifting it into position takes more effort than the lighter models.

Right for you if

  • You want starling-resistant entrance holes built into the house.
  • You have room for a three-floor, 12-room house.
  • You prefer aluminum over plastic or wood.

Maybe skip it if

  • You want a house that comes with no assembly.
  • You want the most rooms in a single unit, since the S&K barn holds 16.

How it compares. The S&K 16-room barn offers more rooms, but its listing does not describe starling-resistant entrances.

Real-world use case: A colony that needs starling-resistant entrance holes in an aluminum house with twelve rooms across three floors.

Who should buy it: Buyers who want starling-resistant holes built into a three-floor aluminum house and can handle assembly and a 9 lb unit.

Who should skip it: Buyers who want a house that comes with no assembly, or the most rooms in a single unit.

Bottom line: The 12-room aluminum house with starling-resistant holes in this guide, and the strongest fit when that feature matters most.

2. S&K 16-Room Purple Martin Barn: best for a large colony

The S&K barn is the largest house in this guide by room count. The listing describes divided compartments for up to 16 families, made up of 12 compartments of 6 x 6 in. and four larger 6 x 9 in. compartments for extra space. It has tilted floors for drainage and hinged front panels for cleanup, and it snaps together with no tools.

The listing says it is designed to pair with the S&K telescoping pole, sold separately, which makes raising and lowering it easier.

What we like

  • Up to 16 families in a single unit, per the listing.
  • No-tools assembly.
  • Hinged front panels and tilted floors for cleaning and drainage.

Keep in mind

  • The telescoping pole is sold separately, so plan for it when you order.

How it compares. Against the Birds Choice 12-room house, the barn gives four more family spaces, but the listing does not describe starling-resistant holes.

Real-world use case: A backyard set-up with room for a large unit and a telescoping pole, hosting up to 16 families.

Who should buy it: Buyers who want the most family spaces in one unit and plan to buy the telescoping pole.

Who should skip it: Buyers who want starling-resistant holes, which the listing does not describe, or who do not want to buy a pole separately.

Bottom line: The largest single house in this guide by room count, for buyers planning for a big colony.

3. Heath M-12Dp 12-Room Wood House: best wood option

The Heath wood house is the only wood model in this guide. Its bullets say it is plantation-grown redwood, while its description calls the wood cedar, so confirm the species if it matters to you. The listing says the roof lifts off and the room dividers lift out, which makes cleaning simpler than with a fixed roof.

The listing says the porch rails are there to keep young birds from falling out of the house, and that no assembly is required.

What we like

  • Wood that comes ready to mount, with no assembly.
  • A roof and room dividers that come out for cleaning.

Keep in mind

  • The listing's dimension field is incomplete, so measure the house before you buy.

How it compares. It has the same 12-room count as the Birds Choice model, but it is wood rather than aluminum, and its listing does not mention starling-resistant entrances.

Real-world use case: A buyer who wants a wooden house that is ready to mount with no assembly and a roof that lifts off for cleaning.

Who should buy it: Buyers who prefer wood and want 12 rooms with no assembly.

Who should skip it: Buyers who need starling-resistant entrances, or who are not willing to measure the house before buying.

Bottom line: The only wood house in this guide, a 12-room option for buyers who put wood and no assembly first.

4. Birds Choice 8-Room Aluminum House: best for a smaller colony

The 8-room version uses the same starling-resistant entrance design and aluminum build as the 12-room house, spread over two floors instead of three. The listing gives its size as 19 x 14 x 14 in. and its weight as 7 lb, which makes it lighter to lift than the 12-room model.

The listing also describes porch dividers, guard rails and a reflective roof. Check the product pages before you decide.

What we like

  • Lighter than the 12-room model, at 7 lb in the listing.
  • Starling-resistant entrance holes, per the listing.
  • A reflective roof and porch dividers, per the listing.

Keep in mind

  • Eight rooms is a smaller colony than the 12-room and 16-room models.
  • Assembly is required, as with the larger aluminum house.

How it compares. Compared with the 12-room model, it trades four rooms for about 2 lb less weight.

Real-world use case: A smaller colony in a lighter two-floor aluminum house that is easier to lift into position.

Who should buy it: Buyers hosting a smaller colony who want starling-resistant holes in a 7 lb house.

Who should skip it: Buyers who want more than eight rooms, or a house that comes with no assembly.

Bottom line: A lighter, smaller version of the 12-room aluminum house for smaller colonies.

5. Heath AH-6D 6-Room Aluminum House: best compact aluminum

This is the smallest house in the guide. The listing describes a hexagonal design with floors that snap out for cleaning, and it says the lightweight white aluminum keeps the inside cool. Door stops let you close the house between seasons, and porch railings are included to help keep young birds safe.

The listing says the house can grow with your colony by adding a unit, and that the mounting pole is sold separately.

What we like

  • The lightest house in the guide, at 3.5 lb.
  • Floors that snap out for cleaning, per the listing.
  • Door stops that let you close the house between seasons.

Keep in mind

  • Six rooms only, although the listing says you can add a unit.
  • The pole is sold separately and assembly is required.

Real-world use case: A buyer who wants a light, compact house to start with and add units to as the colony grows, as the listing describes.

Who should buy it: Buyers who want the lightest house in the guide at 3.5 lb, with floors that snap out for cleaning.

Who should skip it: Buyers who need more than six rooms in one unit, or who want a pole included with the house.

Bottom line: The compact aluminum entry point in this guide, with room to grow by adding units per the listing.

6. S&K 12-Room Purple Martin House: best plastic 12-room

The S&K 12-room house is the plastic option with a 12-room layout. The listing describes 6 x 6 in. compartments, slightly sloped floors and keyhole-style entrances. It snaps together without tools in minutes.

The listing says it pairs with the S&K Quad-Tel pole, and that a lifetime warranty on the house applies when it is used with that pole. Otherwise the house carries a one-year limited warranty.

What we like

  • Twelve rooms with no tools needed to assemble.
  • A warranty that the listing ties to the Quad-Tel pole.
  • Keyhole entrances and sloped floors, per the listing.

Keep in mind

  • The listing does not describe starling-resistant holes.
  • The pole is sold separately.

Real-world use case: A buyer who wants a 12-room plastic house with no-tools assembly and plans to pair it with the Quad-Tel pole for the lifetime warranty.

Who should buy it: Buyers who want a plastic 12-room house that assembles without tools.

Who should skip it: Buyers who need starling-resistant holes, which the listing does not describe, or who do not plan to buy the separately sold pole.

Bottom line: A plastic 12-room option whose lifetime warranty depends on using the Quad-Tel pole.

7. Heath Purple Martin Gourds: best gourd option

Gourds suit buyers who want to add units to existing housing or set up a gourd rack. The listing says the gourds are lightweight, off-white plastic that keeps the inside cool, and that each has a starling-resistant entrance that can be removed if you do not need it. Rain deflectors sit over the entry holes, and a drainage hole in the base helps water escape.

The listing counts this as 8 gourds in its bullets, but its specs describe a two-piece set and its copy calls it a two-pack, so check the count before you order.

What we like

  • Light at 1.1 lb, per the listing.
  • Starling-resistant entrances that can be removed, per the listing.
  • Rain deflectors and a drainage hole in each gourd, per the listing.

Keep in mind

  • The listed count is unclear, so confirm it on the product page.
  • Colony size depends on how many gourds you mount, and the listing does not say how many a pole will carry.

How it compares. Compared with the houses, it is far lighter at 1.1 lb, but it does not offer the room count of the S&K barn in a single unit.

Real-world use case: A buyer who wants to add gourds to existing housing or set up a gourd rack.

Who should buy it: Buyers who want light gourds with removable starling-resistant entrances.

Who should skip it: Buyers who want several rooms in a single unit, or who need the listed count confirmed before they buy.

Bottom line: The lightest option in this guide, best used to add units rather than as one house.

What to look for in a purple martin house

Room count and colony size

Room count is the first decision. The houses here range from 6 rooms to 16, and the listings describe the largest barn as holding up to 16 families. Plan for the colony you hope to host rather than the one you have seen in a single season, and remember that a house can grow by adding units if the listing allows it.

Entrance holes and starling control

Starlings compete for the same nest sites, and the listings handle this differently. The Birds Choice houses describe crescent-shaped starling-resistant holes, and the Heath gourds have removable starling-resistant entrances. The 99.8% effectiveness figure in the Birds Choice copy is the manufacturer's claim, so read it as a claim rather than a measured result.

Material: aluminum, plastic, wood or gourds

Aluminum is lighter than wood and stays cooler, according to several listings. Plastic is also light, and the S&K listings describe tool-free snap-together assembly. Wood suits buyers who want a traditional look, but its listing details are less consistent, so confirm the species and dimensions before you buy. Gourds are the lightest option by far.

Cleaning, mounting and the pole

Most houses here sell the mounting pole separately, so check the pole before you order. Cleaning access varies: the Heath wood house lifts off its roof, the Birds Choice models have hinged doors, and the Heath 6-room floors snap out. If you are choosing a pole or a bigger mounting system, the pole system guide covers that set-up in more depth. For other cavity nesters, see the bluebird house guide and the wren house guide.

Rooms per pound and per cubic inch

Two listing figures can be combined to compare the houses. Dividing rooms by the listed weight gives rooms per pound: the S&K 16-room barn leads at 16 / 8 lb = 2.00, followed by the Heath AH-6D at 6 / 3.5 lb = 1.71, the S&K 12-room house at 12 / 8 lb = 1.50, the Birds Choice 12-room house at 12 / 9 lb = 1.33, the Heath wood house at 12 / 10 lb = 1.20, and the Birds Choice 8-room house at 8 / 7 lb = 1.14.

Estimate: multiplying the listed length, width and height gives an outer box volume, and dividing rooms by that volume gives rooms per 1,000 cubic inches. This is a rough estimate from outer dimensions, not interior space. The Heath AH-6D comes out highest at 6 / 2.366 = 2.54 (14 x 13 x 13 = 2,366 cubic inches), followed by the S&K barn at 16 / 6.840 = 2.34, the Birds Choice 12-room house at 12 / 5.320 = 2.26, the Birds Choice 8-room house at 8 / 3.724 = 2.15, and the S&K 12-room house at 12 / 6.840 = 1.75. The Heath wood house is left out because its listed dimensions are not stated reliably, and the gourds are left out because their count is unclear.

In short, the barn gives the most rooms per pound, while the compact AH-6D gives the most rooms per box volume.

Conclusion

For the most rooms in one unit, the S&K 16-room barn is the choice, though it needs the separately sold telescoping pole. If starling-resistant holes matter most, the Birds Choice 12-room house is the pick, and its 8-room version suits a smaller colony. Buyers who want wood and no assembly should look at the Heath 12-room house, while those who want a light, compact start can choose the Heath AH-6D. The S&K 12-room plastic house suits buyers who want no-tools assembly, and the gourds fit buyers who want light add-on units.

Verified: November 2, 2026

Frequently asked questions

What is the best purple martin house?

Choose the S&K barn if you need the most rooms in one unit.

How many rooms does a purple martin house need?

That depends on the colony you want to host. The listings range from 6 rooms to 16, and the S&K barn is the largest at 16 rooms for up to 16 families.

Do purple martin houses need a pole?

Most listings here say the mounting pole is sold separately. The Heath gourd listing includes mounting instructions and hardware. The Birds Choice listings do not describe a pole, so check before you buy.

What is a starling-resistant entrance hole?

According to the Birds Choice listing, it is a crescent-shaped opening cut to a set height, which the listing says keeps starlings out while still letting martins enter. The 99.8% effectiveness figure is the manufacturer's claim.

Which house is easiest to clean?

The Heath wood house has a roof that lifts off and room dividers that lift out. The Birds Choice houses have hinged doors, and the Heath 6-room model has floors that snap out.

Are gourds better than a house?

Neither is better in general. Gourds are lighter, listed at 1.1 lb, while a house gives you several rooms in one unit.

Keep reading

Bird Picks Editors Editorial team

The Bird Picks editorial team researches feeders, seed, baths and birdhouses from manufacturer specifications. Read our editorial policy.

This page is general information, not medical advice. Ask a doctor or physical therapist which product suits you.